Chicago: New Bacon Capital of the Midwest?

I don’t know if that can be claimed yet, but in all the post-election drama I missed seeing Lisa Donovan decend from the heavens and deliver this article in the Chicago Sun-Times.

As every good moron knows, bacon is the food of the gods.  It comes in many forms, all of them delicious.  One of my favorite blogs, doubleplusundead, seems to have the conservative blog market cornered when it comes to all things bacon, however, this juicy, crispy, tasty little news morsel somehow slipped through their greasy little fingers.

First there was Wendy’s “Baconator,” two quarter-pound burgers topped off with six strips of bacon. Hot ‘n’ juicy indeed.

Then J&D’s smoky Bacon Salt, billed as delivering the flavor without the fat, the frying or the filthy kitchen, hit the shelves of Meijer, Jewel and other area grocery stores in September.

And this month, we saw the unveiling of breaded, deep-fried bacon — dressed in country gravy — at Risque Cafe in Lake View

The first two paragraphs were enough to have my mouth watering, but I just about called my boss and told him I suddenly came down with a case of ebola after I read the last part.  Oh, and yes folks, there is a picture…

110508det_cst_feed_20081104_18_08_54_17_h282w400

Just look at that dish!! Screw Obama’s unicorns and rainbows, I’ll wash down my hope and change with a big basket of THAT.  Thanks.  I’m not so crazy about the shirt though.  It looks like the result of someone seeing an actually clever/funny shirt, and trying to come up with one of their own without fully understanding what they were doing.

Chef Andrew Niemeyer shares where an angel told him the recipie came from.

“It’s something my friends and I tossed around when I was in culinary school,” says Niemeyer, a 2005 graduate of the Cooking and Hospitality Institute of Chicago. “Just hearing about it makes your heart skip a beat.”

Yes, Andrew, that it does.  However, I’m not sure if it’s from the excitement, or the sudden intake of all the cholesterol that’s making my heart skip beats.

Addendum: In all my excitement, I can’t believe I missed this little bit towards the end of the article…

If you don’t want your bacon messed with, then head over to Bucktown’s Chinaski’s Bar, 1935 N. Damen, which offers all-you-can eat bacon on the first Monday of every month. For free.

“All true religions have to have some monthly faith meeting,” says one employee, when asked about the purpose of the bottomless bacon bowl.

Wow…sounds like the next Moronapalooza in Chicago already has the date and location picked out.  I’m predicting a huge influx of out-of-state attendees.

One Response to Chicago: New Bacon Capital of the Midwest?

  1. Pupster says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard a more melodius turn of phrase as ‘Free Bacon’.

    Awesome.

Leave a Reply

