2nd Amendment Rally (reporter on-the-scene) [UPDATED]

Hey everyone, I got back a couple hours ago from the 2nd Amendment rally downtown. It was a really great experience. I’ve never attended or been a part of a political “rally” before and it was something I really enjoyed. I might have enjoyed it MORE though if there were counter-protesters.

I decided to cover this the same way zombietime covers his rallies. I’d also like to thank him for getting back to me when I asked him for any advice he might have in regards to covering events like this.

The rally was held at the Thompson Center and emcee’d by local conservative talk-show host Cisco Cotto. Also there were a couple NRA VPs, representatives from the Illinois Rifle Association, State’s attorney candidate Tony Peraica, and several spokesperson for 2nd Amendment Sisters (pro-gun women), PinkPistols (pro-gun gay/alternative sexualty) and other local 2nd Amendment supporters.

Anyway, here we go…

[UPDATE]  Welcome Oleg Volk and readers!!!  Here it is, 8 months after I attended the 2nd Amendment Rally downtown, and a fellow blogger (who’s much more popular than I), was kind enough to link to this post.  Oleg Volk  came across my post and pictures, set up a link, and in the last three days I’ve gotten well over 500 views, so I just wanted to say thanks Oleg!!

The rally was held right outside the James R. Thompson center, which was really convenient as it’s the same location as a major hub for Chicago’s “L” train. You just get off on the Clark/Lake stop, step outside, and you’d practically run into the rally.

I’d about two to three hundred people showed up. Not all were there at the beginning, and not all of them stayed through to the end. Above is a picture taken during feature speaker Dr. Susanna Hupp’s time at the mic. She had a compelling story to tell about her experience during a shooting that took place inside a Texas restaraunt and claimed the lives of 22 people, including both her mother and father. I actually found a YouTube of her telling her story taken from Penn & Teller’s show Bullshit! on Showtime.

As usual, signs are always a huge part of events like this. I personally love seeing all the signs that zombietime takes photographs of, so I took the time to grab pics of almost every one that I saw there so I could share them with you. The sign on the right I think makes a great point, and was a theme reflected in a lot of shirts/signs today.

This sign supports guns on campus, something that might have helped prevent or at least lessen the damage at the Northern Illinois University shooting earlier this year.


Who doesn’t love the image of a mom holding an assault weapon? Not only does it help protect your home and family, it’ll also help keep your kids in line knowing their mom is a crack-shot with a deadly weapon.

Not only signs, but shirts are also a popular way of showing your opinion. Some of which I have to admit, I wish I would have come up with.

Yes, even us conservatives, if when given the right to own and carry handguns in Chicago, would defend both sides of the aisle in a dangerous situation. How’s that for bi-partisanship?

I don’t know if this is wrong, but I loved this sign. At first, all I saw was the “Rape This” version. It wasn’t until about halfway through the rally I saw my first “Rape That” sign. Also, I couldn’t find any to take a picture of, but there were some tongue-depressors floating around as a joke towards the advice that women should make themselves puke to help ward off an attacker. I’m trying to find evidence that this was actual self-defense advice given out by the state/city, but I don’t have any reason to doubt it.

I didn’t feel like I was at an “actual” political rally until I start spotting the PaulBots.

Oh, and it looks like he found some friends too. I just don’t get it, when are the PaulBots going to realize that Ron Paul isn’t the candidate anymore and he won’t be President this year? It just boggles my mind.

This I thought was one of the better signs of the day. It makes a great point against those who would argue that the right to bear arms only applies to those firearms that existed at the time the Constitution was drafted. However, having the right to free speech only apply to those that use a printing press would probably be pretty attractive right now to the New York Times, LA Times, and other news printers having to cut jobs.

Just a great shirt.

Here’s my favorite item of the day. Most people there had a sticker they received at the NRA/IRA table that was setup. What a great slogan, it really just speaks for itself.

Overall I think it was a great day and a successful event. I saw many passersby and stop to listen for a few minutes and I think I saw a few nod in approval or at least give some serious thought to what was being said.

And now, I leave you with one other thing I’d like to mention. Something I’ve noticed over the past few years and I just want to see if anyone else has spotted this trend as well. Is it just me, or are conservative commentators/newsbabes more attractive than their lefty counterparts? I think so. However, what I do know for a fact…pro-gun babes are ALWAYS hot.

9 Responses to 2nd Amendment Rally (reporter on-the-scene) [UPDATED]

  1. jhbowden says:

    Well done! Keep up the good work.

  2. iamnotachef says:

    Nicely done.

    Were there any counter-protesters?

  3. conservativeinthecity says:

    No, no counter-protesters, unfortunately.

    Although, I can probably bet that most people walking by weren’t exactly on our side 🙂

  4. Natalie says:

    Yes, conservative news chicks are always hotter! My husband and his friends noticed this trend, as well. 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    Regarding the advice to use vomit to deter an attacker, that’s from the Illinois State Police’s website:

    http://www.isp.state.il.us/crime/saconfronted.cfm

    “It may sound disgusting, but putting your fingers into you throat and making yourself vomit usually gets results. (This method is not often used except as a last resort.)”

  6. conservativeinthecity says:

    Thanks Michelle! That’s exactly what I was looking for.

  7. John says:

    You don’t understand why the Ron Paul activists show up at Second Amendment rallies, because you are still hung up on all the left vs. right nonsense and being a “conservative.” Perhaps the words of Ronald Reagan might enlighten you:

    “We are told to choose between left or right. I suggest there is only an up or down. Up to man’s age-old dream—-the maximum freedom consistent with an orderly society-—or down to the ant hill of totalitarianism.”

    Those willing to sacrifice their god-given, natural rights for pathetic political promises of safety or security are embarked on this downward path–and are assisting the forces of darkness in bring us there.

    Suggest you read the “Creature from Jekyll Island,” by G. Edward Griffin, and learn who created all this left vs. right nonsense and why.

    Only then can you understand why Ron Paul will never go away: He’s right, and has been so all along.

    (And stop watching the damn TV. It’s just a propaganda machine–Pravda (“Official Truth”) all over again, this time on 500 channels instead of one. You can never break out of your left/right conditioning as long as you are still swallowing the mainstream media’s jism.)

    • conservativeinthecity says:

      John,
      It’s not a matter of “left/right conditioning”. I view the Ron Paul phenomenon (if you want to call it that) similar to Ross Perot back during the Bush Sr./Clinton election. I understand if you support what he stands for, and I’m all in favor of supporting YOUR candidate to the end. However…

      You quoted Ronald Reagan who advocated not choice between left or right, but voting for maximum (up) or minimum freedom (down). I agree completely with this sentiment. This is what primary elections are for, of which, I believe Ron Paul was a part of.

      I will ask you though, given that the current political system in the US is that of two parties, isn’t it better to vote for a candidate that has a realistic chance of winning an election than to vote for the 3rd party candidate? I’m not saying the two-party system is right or wrong, I’m simply acknowledging reality.

      John McCain was not my ideal candidate. I don’t support a lot of the same things that he does, however, I was (and still am) adamantly opposed to pretty much everything Obama supported. What I’m getting at is, yes, I agree with you that we should be voting for candidates that move this country towards a more free society, or “up” as Mr. Reagan put it. However, I would much rather give my vote to a candiate with a realistic chance of winning, and only slightly moves us more “up”, than to vote for a candidate that has zero chance of winning but would move us “up” to a greater degree.

      What I don’t understand is how Ron Paul’s supporters can justify taking votes away from McCain, in what was thought to be a close election (we found out later, it wasn’t that close), and thereby actually aiding the candidate who moves us “down the ant hill towards totalitarianism”.

  8. John says:

    You are obviously quite astute. A well-thought out response.

    It is not enough to be intelligent, however, without possessing accurate knowledge. That is why I strongly re-iterate my recommendation that you avail yourself of G. Edward Griffin’s book, “The Creature from Jekyll Island,” or, if reading is not your thing, a simpler book by Alan (not Alex!) Jones, “How the World Really Works.” Both of them contain accurate, historical facts never taught in schools and never seen on TV. These are what you are missing.

    To answer your question about being practical in not wasting one’s vote, I have to preface it with the warning that national elections are staged events to keep the people from ever seeing what is going on behind the curtain.

    “I’m not saying the two-party system is right or wrong, I’m simply acknowledging reality.” Well, I will say it. Two party systems ARE wrong, if both parties are two heads of the same snake. Both parties and their candidate serve the same masters. Read either of those books above and find out who they are.

    How many times have you held your nose and voted for the lesser of two evils? May I remind you that the lesser of two evils is still evil?

    I no longer vote unless I can vote my conscience. It makes no difference to me which head of the snake wins–it’s still a snake.

Leave a Reply

