It’s getting just a little out of hand now

So I’ve been wanting to do this post since I started this blog (so basically, for a week). All I needed was a digital camera. It’s nothing that’s going to be nationally covered, but I think it works nicely to demonstrate exactly what Barack Obama means to his faithful followers.

There’s a building on the corner of North and Milwaukee here in Wicker Park that just recently had its first floor turned into a bank. Before that renovation was done, there was some sort of art gallery setup inside it. With the bank now completely finished and operating, the 2nd and 3rd floors of this building have painted portraits of significant figures from history on display in the windows. I believe these pictures, or at least most of them, were on display during this temporary art showing. Here’s some pictures I took this afternoon.

Here we have Spike Lee. Ok, sure, not really what I would call a “historically significant” figure in US history, but I’m not the one putting these pictures on display.

Ok, I admit, this one throws me off a bit. Malcom X, ok, I can understand that, but Bill Gates? Hey, I like the guy, but I can think of plenty of people and a lot of liberals who aren’t exactly his #1 fan. Maybe they thought it was a picture of Steve Jobs?


This is a bit more like it. Mother Theresa, Ghandi, and…wait…Nelson Mandela. Well, ok 2 out of 3 isn’t bad. I could think of a few better people that could have gone up before Mandela, but I’ll get into that later.

However, if you look down a floor and slightly to the left, guess which other historically important figure you’ll find…

That’s right, the Messiah himself, Barack Obama. Amazing isn’t it? This portrait happens to be on the front end of the building so it’s easy to see from the south half of this three street intersection, and the Blue Line train. So all those who are weary and downtrodden may gaze upon the Obamessiah and be lifted up and renewed with a new sense of hope and change.

As I mentioned before, the next closest figures are Mother Theresa and Ghandi (Gates, X, and Lee are all further down the side of the building, harder to see unless you actually travel down Milwaukee Ave.).

Seriously though, Obama is deserving of being on the same list as Mother Theresa, Nelson Mandela, Ghandi, Malcom X, and Bill Gates? At least Spike Lee has made some significant movies and funny Nike commercials.

Where the heck is Martin Luther King? George Washington Carver? Mr. T? Those are just three African-Americans I can name off the top of my head with more significance in America than Obama. And yes, I’m serious about Mr. T being on that list. He’s done more to keep kids in school and off drugs than Obama has done by voting “present” (approx. 130 times) in the Illinois Senate on a host of significant bills.

The hysteria just can’t get any more comical. When you’ve got a guy who’s only spent 8 years in a State Senate, and not even a full term in the Federal Senate, how can you possibly be elevated to this level of reverence? Not to mention that he won that Federal seat pretty much by default…but I’ll cover that another time.

One Response to It’s getting just a little out of hand now

  1. tweeder says:

    “Hmmmm….your ideas are intriguing and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.”
    Homer

Leave a Reply

